Customer Reviews for Highlife® Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub

Highlife® Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub

  • 6 adults
  • 7'3" x 7'3" x 36"H/2.20m x 2.20m x .91m H
  • 400 gallons/1,514 litres
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 271 reviews
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
208 out of 226(92%)reviewers recommend this productbrand.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Review 1 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Customer avatar
from Pennington, NJ
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
PostedFebruary 17, 2014
We selected our Hot Spring spa after much research and we are glad to report that we were not disappointed! This winter has brought much snow to the northeast and after spending several hours after each snow storm shoveling snow it is so wonderful to sink into the relaxing waters of our spa! We have the salt-water system and so maintenance is minimal. We are looking forward to the summer months when we anticipate even greater use!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy Peggy W. Customer ServiceFebruary 26, 2014
Look at that great view from the spa! I'm ready to fly to Jersey!! Thanks for the review of the Vanguard and description of how it's making this incredible winter bearable. Happy Year 'Round Tubbing!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing at its best!!!

Customer avatar
from Tennessee
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 25, 2011
We LOVE our Hot Spring spa and feel it was a wonderful purchase. We've had numerous compliments from family and friends, even from other spa owners, that it is the best spa they have ever used.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
-11points
15of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Jon Vald
Reykjavik Iceland
Thanks from ICELAND - It is fantastic!
Posted October 22, 2013
We bought this Hot tube 6 years ago for our summer house in Iceland and it is great. We use it a lot, both during summer time and also on the cold winter. Our little girls loves it and it makes the trip to the summer house extra fun :-). Almost every one that we have invited to the hot tube say "this it the best they have used".
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
edna
Manahawkin, NJ
made for taller people
Posted June 30, 2013
I just bought a new Vanguard. It was delivered on Thursday June 27th. Because of the weather, I did not get to use the Spa until Friday night. It is a beautiful Spa, I bought it because I wanted the moto massage. The big problem is I can't sit all the way down in the seat. Even with the water level lowered as close to the jets as possible, I still can not sit all the way down in the seat. It is designed for someone taller than 5'2". Also, when attempting to get into the tub, you have to step over the controls. There is no way to sit on the edge of the tub without sitting on the control buttons. This is the 5th Hot Springs tub I have purchases and the first one with such a poor design.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Fluffy
Moneta,Va
Great quality in a hot tub
Posted February 21, 2013
We have had some problems adjusting chemicals in our tub. We have copper in our water.we really have to stay on top of it until we get it right.If you have any suggestions for copper other than leisure time I would love to hear them. So far that works the best!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Spa lover
Upstate NY
It is marvelous!
Posted June 2, 2012
Our Vanguard is almost 9 years old and We
still use it frequently and totally enjoy it! there is nothing like it on a cold,snowy night!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 3 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Water Vanguard

Customer avatar
from Holmes, PA
Age:35-44
PostedMay 19, 2016
Best investment ever! We use our hot tub every night. Great for family and friends. The saltwater is awesome and easy to maintain. Just love my Vanguard!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unhappy81

Customer avatar
from Tennesse
Age:55-65
PostedMay 14, 2016
I recently posted a review complaining about the Ace system; more specifically, complaining that the cell does not last very long and is too expensive to replace. I do want to say that the local dealer has been very nice and helps us a lot to understand the options. There was not a specific place on the form to rate the dealer but I would rate them very highly. I indicated on the previous review that I didn't want to interact with them on this topic any more but that is only because I probably irritate them with all my questions and complaints.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 16, 2016
Thank you for your review. I have seen your previous review and I would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me.
I look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the investment

Customer avatar
from Los gatos, CA
Age:45-54
PostedMay 10, 2016
Great hot tub that provides excellent comfort and therapy and an overall quality experience. You will have great pride of ownership!
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Leak

Customer avatar
from Goddard, KS
Age:Over 65
PostedMay 10, 2016
This is our second Hot Spring spa and have generally been pleased. However, a leak has developed which appears to be coming from the double moto-massage area. Much to our dismay, the wood panels that go around the spa are not removable. The service people have advised they must drain the spa, bring 4 men out to lift the spa and set it up on two layers of concrete blocks. Then they refill the spa and probe under the spa through dense foam to hopefully find the leak. They suspect the leak is coming from a line that keeps the well of the moto massage clean. There is no repair for this, all they can do is cap the line. I would like to meet the engineer that designed a spa that can not be repaired easily. Why would you design the wood panels is such a way that they could not be removed? This is going to be very expensive and a needless waste of money due to a poor design. Very disappointed in Hot Spring.
Comfort:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience. I am sorry to here that your spa has a leak. I would like to see what I can do to help. I will contact you directly.
I look forward is working with you soon. hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I was in it now.

Customer avatar
from Pecan Plantation
Age:Over 65
PostedMay 9, 2016
I'm sure this will be a five star review when we get to take delivery. However we are doing a remodel and all the worker bees have been hampered by weather and other obligations. We should have it installed on the 19th of May. So excited!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super

Customer avatar
from Chattanooga, TN
Age:Over 65
PostedMay 9, 2016
really enjoy using the spa. would have loved to have jets on the floor for my feet
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 17, 2016
Hello Super!

Thank you for your review. Hot Spring has many models to choose from that have varying jet locations. However, I have heard of other bathers sitting in their spa in a way that best targets the area that needs massaging.

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 17, 2016
Hello Super!

Thank you for your review. Hot Spring has many models to choose from that have varying jet locations. However, I have heard of other bathers sitting in their spa in a way that best targets the area that needs massaging.

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unhappy with ACE cell

Customer avatar
from Applton, WI
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedMay 6, 2016
We owned our Vanguard about 2.5 years when it started giving us a message to contact service for repair. A service man came out and told us the ACE cell is no longer working. Cost of a new ACE cell is approximately $800. He told us that the ACE cells typically last only 2 or 3 years and the warranty period is one year.
I chose to add chlorine manually rather than stick $800 into the hot tub every 2 or 3 years. If I had known this upfront, I would not have purchased a hot tub with this feature.
To top it off, today I got a bill for $99.75 from the service man who did nothing to repair the tub.
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 9, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with ACE.
The information that you received from the dealer is correct. I can understand how knowing this information before hand would have played a part in your purchasing decision.
The Hot Spring Warranty covers parts and labor. However, the travel fee that the service techs charge for their time and expertise, is not covered under warranty. I would like to see how I may be able to help with a one time customer accommodation for your time and trouble. Please look for an email from me in your email inbox.
I look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Happy With This Spa

Customer avatar
from Moses Lake, WA
Age:35-44
PostedMay 6, 2016
We purchased this as a family Christmas gift. It was a hit. It gets used almost every day. I've heard horror stories about hot tubs, and we debating getting one for years. Maybe they're better than they used to be. This spa is easy to maintain and use. Once a week I test the water and add a little of whichever chemical is necessary. I would definitely recommend this spa to anyone looking to purchase one.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Tub and Dealer Review

Customer avatar
from Minocqua, Wisconsin
Age:45-54
PostedApril 30, 2016
Jelinski Plumbing was our dealer, there are great, installed, and stock all needed supplies for our hot tub. The salt system is great and cheaper to maintain with no harsh chemicals. Annual energy is less then $20 /month. Thanks Jelinski Plumbing & HotSpring! Tom & Leslie
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems

Customer avatar
from NJ
Age:55-65
PostedApril 29, 2016
This unit has had 5 failures during the warranty period, now that it's out of warranty, the unit has another failure, the light's have lost all control.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaMay 3, 2016
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. I am sorry to hear that your spa in need of service. I would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me. I look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
1 / 5
1 / 5

A lemon from the start

Customer avatar
from Richland, wa
Age:Over 65
PostedApril 24, 2016
We bought our vanguard in 2001. Was told by a relative that the hot Springs brand is the best... From the 1st year to now, we have replaced heaters, pumps and whatever else several times. It started leaking 3 years ago. We are now hauling to the dump and will not replace with a hot springs.
Comfort:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience. I am sorry that you are disappointed and would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me. I look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vanguard Chores

Customer avatar
from Soquel, California
Age:35-44
PostedApril 18, 2016
Service Needed icon always interrupting our enjoyment. Constant guess work on chemical needs. Service Department recommened steps for care & maintenance is NOT the same as the manual.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 25, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. I have contacted your local dealer and we will work together to see how we can help. Please look for an email from me. I look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
1 / 5
1 / 5

PARTS FAIL NO LOCAL MAINTENANCE BAD DEALER

Customer avatar
from VAIL, AZ
Age:55-65
PostedApril 18, 2016
6 YEARS OLD AND CONSTANT BREAK DOWN OF PARTS, AND ELECTRICAL SHORTS DURING AND AFTER WARRANTY. THE DEALER CAN'T FIX IT, THE DEALER FAILS TO TROUBLE SHOOT. WE HAVE CALLED THE MANUFACTURER MULTIPLE TIMES , NO SOLUTIONS. WE HAVE DECIDED TO JUST HAVE IT HAULED AWAY AND BUY ANOTHER NAME BRAND SPA.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 22, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience. I am sorry to hear that you are frustrated to the point of not wanting your spa. I would like to see if I can help resolve this issue. I have emailed you directly and look forward in working with you soon. hotspring_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best of the Best

Customer avatar
from Windermere
Age:55-65
PostedApril 12, 2016
, heaven Swimming Pools and Spas for as long as I can remember and as long as I can remember lots and lots and lots of maintenance. This may sound like a commercial for Hot Springs but this thing is nothing less than miraculous. Miami lazy spa owner and this thing requires almost zero maintenance and 100% enjoyment highly recommended you can't go wrong worth every penny and then some
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 20, 2016
Hello Best of the Best.

Thank you for your review. Easy spa maintenance does 100% enjoyment :)

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed so far

Customer avatar
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age:45-54
PostedApril 10, 2016
We had high hopes for this spa, but so far it has been a disappointment. We purchased it with the salt system because the water was supposed to be easier to maintain, but that hasn't been the case. We've had it for less than a month and already had the light blinking because of temperature sensor problems and the PH has been difficult to control no matter what we do. We have set the temperature anywhere between 99 and 104 and it feels like warm bath water no matter what we do.
I will re-rate the tub if they can get the issues fixed and we have no more problems, but not a good start.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
2 / 5
2 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 13, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa. I am sorry that your spa experience has had some difficulties. I would like to see how I can help; I will email you directly.

The ACE system can take some getting use to however, I can assure you it is a fabulous way to manage your spa water. I look forward in working with you soon.

hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the Best

Customer avatar
from Fernandina Beach
PostedApril 8, 2016
This is our second Hot Spring Vanguard Spa. Without a doubt Hot Spring is the premier manufacturer of spas. Would not even consider another brand. If you want minimal maintenance, superior quality and exceptional functionality, then Hot Spring is the Spa for you.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 19, 2016
WOW! Thank you for the glowing review and recommendation. Thrilled that you are enjoying your spa.

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this spa!

Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Age:35-44
PostedApril 7, 2016
It only costs about $25 a month to run.
My old one was anywhere from $150-$250 a month depending on weather.
Great spas and many friends love theirs, too!
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 19, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you are enjoying your spa and find it energy efficient. Feedback from the Hot Spring community is important.

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did we wait so long! We Love Our Spa!

Customer avatar
from Medford, Or
Age:55-65
PostedApril 4, 2016
I have or should I say "had" low back pain. My doctor told me the therapy of the hot water and jets would be soothing.... it's beyond soothing to hours of pain free... feels like a miracle!
Thank you Hot Spring for making such an easy to use and maintain spa.
We Love It!
Cheryl and Mike
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 18, 2016
Hi! Chery and Mike.

I love reading reviews like yours. Pain relief is a big deal and I am glad that soaking in your Hot Spring spa has helped you out.

Thank you for your review :)

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
By Customer Service Hot Spring VanessaApril 18, 2016
Hi! Chery and Mike.

I love reading reviews like yours. Pain relief is a big deal and I am glad that soaking in your Hot Spring spa has helped you out.

Thank you for your review :)

Happy Hot Tubbing! hotspring_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>