Customer Reviews for Highlife® Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub

Highlife® Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub

  • 6 adults
  • 7'3" x 7'3" x 36"H/2.20m x 2.20m x .91m H
  • 400 gallons/1,514 litres
Average Customer Rating:
4.635 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 203 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
181 out of 197(92%)reviewers recommend this productbrand.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Review 1 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Customer avatar
from Pennington, NJ
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
PostedFebruary 17, 2014
We selected our Hot Spring spa after much research and we are glad to report that we were not disappointed! This winter has brought much snow to the northeast and after spending several hours after each snow storm shoveling snow it is so wonderful to sink into the relaxing waters of our spa! We have the salt-water system and so maintenance is minimal. We are looking forward to the summer months when we anticipate even greater use!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy Peggy W. Customer ServiceFebruary 26, 2014
Look at that great view from the spa! I'm ready to fly to Jersey!! Thanks for the review of the Vanguard and description of how it's making this incredible winter bearable. Happy Year 'Round Tubbing!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing at its best!!!

Customer avatar
from Tennessee
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 25, 2011
We LOVE our Hot Spring spa and feel it was a wonderful purchase. We've had numerous compliments from family and friends, even from other spa owners, that it is the best spa they have ever used.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
-10points
15of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Jon Vald
Reykjavik Iceland
Thanks from ICELAND - It is fantastic!
Posted October 22, 2013
We bought this Hot tube 6 years ago for our summer house in Iceland and it is great. We use it a lot, both during summer time and also on the cold winter. Our little girls loves it and it makes the trip to the summer house extra fun :-). Almost every one that we have invited to the hot tube say "this it the best they have used".
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
edna
Manahawkin, NJ
made for taller people
Posted June 30, 2013
I just bought a new Vanguard. It was delivered on Thursday June 27th. Because of the weather, I did not get to use the Spa until Friday night. It is a beautiful Spa, I bought it because I wanted the moto massage. The big problem is I can't sit all the way down in the seat. Even with the water level lowered as close to the jets as possible, I still can not sit all the way down in the seat. It is designed for someone taller than 5'2". Also, when attempting to get into the tub, you have to step over the controls. There is no way to sit on the edge of the tub without sitting on the control buttons. This is the 5th Hot Springs tub I have purchases and the first one with such a poor design.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Fluffy
Moneta,Va
Great quality in a hot tub
Posted February 21, 2013
We have had some problems adjusting chemicals in our tub. We have copper in our water.we really have to stay on top of it until we get it right.If you have any suggestions for copper other than leisure time I would love to hear them. So far that works the best!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Spa lover
Upstate NY
It is marvelous!
Posted June 2, 2012
Our Vanguard is almost 9 years old and We
still use it frequently and totally enjoy it! there is nothing like it on a cold,snowy night!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 3 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like the spa, but service is a different matter

Customer avatar
from Central Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedAugust 26, 2015
Purchased in 2009 and like the design of the spa and the jet controls. Not happy with the quality of materials or local response to service requests. Had to replace the heater twice, (once while under warranty and again after the warranty expired) as well as the heater control relay board. In April 2015 the spa went into protection mode and the display read "call for service". After two months of waiting for a response from the local dealer, Hot Springs was contacted. Long story short, a new control board was installed in the spa on August 24, 2015. Took over 4 months for the service to be completed on this unit.
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy MarianneCustomer ServiceAugust 27, 2015
Hello Mike!! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with receiving service on your spa. Sorry you had some electronic issues and the dealer took so long to get that repaired. We are glad that you contacted us about that. Watkins hopes that will not be the case in the future, and please let us know if you have any trouble with service in future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the warmth!

Customer avatar
from dover, ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedAugust 19, 2015
I especially love our Hot Springs spa after my fitness class--so comforting to my sore muscles!!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy BenCustomer ServiceAugust 19, 2015
Helllo, thank you for your wonderful feedback on your Hot Spring Vanguard model spa! What a great way to top off your fitness with a soak in the hot spa - wishing you many years of happy soaking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase ever

Customer avatar
from Mesa, Az
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedAugust 1, 2015
Love this spa have been using it for the past 10 years
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy JaclynCustomer ServiceAugust 4, 2015
Thanks for the feedback on your Hot Spring Vanguard model spa! May you continue to enjoy your tub for many years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best purchase ever

Customer avatar
from Concord,nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 22, 2015
I enjoy my spa most after long day of work i would most certainly recommend the spa to someone else
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to relax after shoveling snow!

Customer avatar
from Syracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 22, 2015
We love our Hot Springs Spa! Care couldn't be easier. We soak year round- after shoveling snow and gardening and even just because...It is always ready for socializing and easing the stress of the day.
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy VanessaCustomer ServiceAugust 6, 2015
Soaking in the Hot Tub is a great way to ease the stress away. Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you love your spa.

Happy Hot Tubbing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my spa

Customer avatar
from Tulsa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 20, 2015
This was just a great investment for starting or ending a day feeling good and relaxed! We have spent many nights in this tub swirling away stress and doing a little stargazing. Hot Springs makes very well made tubs and we haven't had any problems with ours! I sometimes have buyers remorse but definitely not on this purchase!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy VanessaCustomer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
I love what you said "swirling away stress". Sign me up! Happy to know that you are enjoying your spa.

Happy Hot Tubbing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta Love hot tubbing

Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 19, 2015
This is our second hotspring spa and we Love your product!
Comfort:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy VanessaCustomer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
Wow, your second Hot Spring Spa!

Thank you for being a part of the Hot Spring Family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Well Spent!!!

Customer avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 17, 2015
We have been very pleased with our 2006 Vanguard. Great quality and energy efficiency. Added maybe $15 per month to our power bill year around and we have cold winters. Awesome place to relax away from screens and technology which leads to great family time and conversations. Owning a Hotspring spa really is like going on vacation in your own backyard! This August we are upgrading to the Hotspring Grandee NXT and we can't wait to get it installed!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy VanessaCustomer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
Stay-cations are a great way to relax at home. It sounds like you are making the most of your time in the Hot Tub. And now you are upgrading to the Grandee NXT. Wonderful! When your new spa is set up, feel free to post some pictures on our Facebook page, we would love to see your new stay-cation spot.

Happy Hot Tubbing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

So relaxing

Customer avatar
from Charlotte, nc
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 16, 2015
Nothing is more relaxing then coming home and getting in our spa. I find that with our busy lifestyles my wife and I don't get time to just talk. It's smart phones, computers, Facebook, texting, and TV. But in the last year of owning this tub we have had quality time to just talk. No electronics. Well except for the Jets, LED lights and the stars.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy BenCustomer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
You are so right! Thank you for such a powerful review - escaping from the fast-paced reality we live in can be a challenge. However, you seem to have found the perfect outlet / escape from it all! Very encouraging story, wishing you many more relaxing soaks in your Hot Spring Spas!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good But!

Customer avatar
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 16, 2015
Improvements could be made in normal maintenance. My wife and I live alone so use level logically does not change. Having to confirm use level on a monthly basis is ridiculous. The additional requirement to rotate filters, and manually initiate cleaning cycles should be automatic. I paid extra for a salt system. For the money I spent, this should be as maintenance free as possible. The company should provide a service to have test strips, etc. mailed to the consumer on a regular basis and the service should be reliable.
I signed up to have a new ion sanitizer sent to me on a predefined schedule. I have yet to receive a single ion sanitizer without having to travel to the store to get it. According to the agreement I signed they are supposed to be mailed to me.
In short, I am not sure whether it is the company or the local distributor that is responsible to ensure these additional service offers are implemented, but I would not recommend signing up for any of them as in my experience they are not reliable.
Aside from this, the service I have received from my local distributor has been very responsive. I have had to have a couple of mechanical components replaced due to failure but thus far, everything has been covered by warranty. These have been fairly major components which would have cost a substantial amount of money. If I had to pay for these out of pocket I would not recommend to my worst enemy that they purchase this product. While I do not know what the failure rate is of these components, at this point I am certainly willing to give the company the benefit of the doubt, that they are not using components that have a high failure rate.
Overall I would have to say I am happy with the Spa.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy Ben Customer ServiceJuly 22, 2015
Hi Sam! Thank you for your use of candor, sharing your experience with the spa, your local dealership, and the warranty services performed on the spa! I am very pleased to hear you are happy with the spa, despite some of the challenges you experienced.

I am happy to address the shared concerns with the retail purchase of the products used to maintain your spa's water care, and the Ace Salt Water system design. We did design the system specifically to keep awareness of the chlorine management made by the system. You can expect an email from me shortly. In addition, if you ever need to, please contact our customer service team by dialing 800.999.4688, and press extension 8432, to speak with one of our helpful representatives. Thanks again Sam!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

our little oasis

Customer avatar
from tiffin oh
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 14, 2015
we live in a rural setting and love to relax in our hotspring spa and watch the stars at night. it is our perfect down time as we gel into our seats
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Investment

Customer avatar
from Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 13, 2015
Before we purchased our Hot Spring Vanguard hot tub, we did quite a bit of research. We investigated other brands and models, and spoke to other hot tub owners. Hot Spring is not the least expensive brand we found, but the salt water option and the longevity of these tubs helped us to choose the right hot tub. We have a salt water system in our tub, and love that you don't feel coated in chlorine when you exit the tub. The water has a very soft feel, and no strong chlorine smell. We enjoy and use our hot tub a lot, even all summer long.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy BenCustomer ServiceJuly 21, 2015
Hello Spercky Hot Tubber! Thanks for your positive feedback on your Hot Spring Vanguard model spa! We take great measures to provide a high-end, quality spa, especially with use of the Ace Saltwater System. Wishing you many future soaks in your salt water spa!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

Customer avatar
from Ocala fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 9, 2015
great relaxing time-alone or with others --very easy to monitor water
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing

Customer avatar
from Detroit Lakes, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 6, 2015
No better way to relax! Great family time leading to good conversations.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy Peggy W.Customer ServiceJuly 6, 2015
well put! Enjoy the spa!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Hot Tub

Customer avatar
from DeSoto, IL
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 3, 2015
We love our hot tub, it is so relaxing to sit in, day or night. We use it year round and love to share it with our family and friends. We have had very little trouble maintaining our tub. We clean the filters, usually weekly. We have switched to Silk Balance and Chlorine for our weekly chemicals and use MPS daily when we get out of the tub. So easy and so gentle on our skin. We love our tub. We have had it for 5 years.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy Peggy W.Customer ServiceJuly 6, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review the spa. We appreciate your purchase are wish you many more years of the same enjoyment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

You're not disappointed when you buy the best!

Customer avatar
from Ontario, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJuly 2, 2015
We love our Vanguard. Stars at night, winter or summer, very relaxing. Very few repairs over eight years. It's been running every day. I keep a path shoveled to it in the winter. Some time my hair freezes, but I'm toasty inside. Best money I spent.
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy BenCustomer ServiceJuly 8, 2015
What a great review - soaking in toasty Vanguard spa water, under the stars, in freezing cold weather. Frozen hair can be resolved by simply leaning back, and dipping in warm water - then you can experience the freeze over and over again! So happy to hear you enjoy the spa after 8 years of ownership, wishing you many more soaks (and frozen hair) moments in your spa!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tub is fabulous

Customer avatar
from St. Louis, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Yes, I recommend this product.
PostedJune 30, 2015
We love our Vanguard tub. The salt system has saved us a ton on chemical purchases. We have received great service from the Watkins folks!
Comfort:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy MarianneCustomer ServiceJuly 2, 2015
Hello, Thank you for your review of your Vanguard Hot Tub! Yes the ACE salt water system can save you on chemicals and water refills since you can go a much longer time before a water drain. Sounds like your dealer has been great to work with! Nice to hear! Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vanguard® - 6 Person Hot Tub
Average Rating:  
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor quality

Customer avatar
from Upstate NY
No, I do not recommend this product.
PostedJune 30, 2015
I have an older Vanguard, which for NO apparent reason the shell of the tub has 2 cracks in it from this winter!! But the worst part was the customer service!!! I was basically told Too Bad!!! I'm in the market for a new spa and don't think Hot Springs is the brand for me !!!!
Comfort:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from HotSpringBy VanessaCustomer ServiceJuly 7, 2015
I am sorry to hear that your spa shell cracked. I will be reaching out to you to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me in your inbox. Thank you for your time and I look forward in working with you soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>